The Department of Heritage Collections in the Proctor Library encompasses the areas of The Flagler College Archives & Special Collections; Rare Books, Floridiana & Institutional Repository; and Digital Collections.
Mission Statement
Our mission is to support student learning by identifying photographs, documents, books, and more that are of enduring value to the mission of Flagler College and preserving them for future teaching or research needs.
The Digital Collections include all digital exhibits produced by the Proctor Library on either ContentDM or Omeka and provide access to books, photographs, and documents located in the Proctor Library or at other institutions. Collaborative digital exhibits are clearly indentified.
This digital exhibit highlights over 100 of the most beautiful books held by Rare Books, Floridiana & Institutional Repository in 2018. The exhibit recreates a display and an event focused on books around the world that have pleasing aesthetics or the best representatives in our collection of the standard styles at different times throughout history from the 1530s to the 2010s. The event and this exhibit was created in anticipation of the Damaged Books event and digital exhibit (available below).
The Civil Rights Library of St. Augustine preserves, and makes available to the public, historical material documenting the local civil rights movement during the 1960s. In collaboration between Flagler College faculty and students, members of the community, and other archives and organizations, we have collected oral histories, interviews, documents, and photographs. We continue to collect and interpret these materials and welcome your inquiries and contributions.
Flagler College does not own the physical copies of the materials made available through the Civil Rights Library of St. Augustine. We were granted by the owners of the material's, digital rights only and all physical items were returned to their owners after being scanned.
This digital exhibit is the converse of Beautiful Books (available above), highlighting instead, ugly books. It is a recreation of a 2019 event covering twenty-three different ways a book can be damaged through more than 80 books in Rare Books, Floridiana & Institutional Repository from the 1560s to 1990s. An additional feature is a collection of thirteen videos further explaining how books (and other paper collections) are damaged, with tips and hints for appropriate private or home-based preservation practices. There are three additional videos on other topics.
The Digital Archives consists of Flagler College yearbooks, college catalogs, the Flagler Review magazines, student newspapers, and a selection of photographs ranging from the late 19th-century to the present. The Flagler College Digital Archives was created by Flagler College students and will keep growing as we continue to digitize the collections. All content is property of Flagler College and may not be used, reproduced, sold or displayed without permission.
The images in these collections were provided by a private collector, Nicholas Christodoulidis, who was generous enough to allow the Flagler College Archives to digitize his collection and make these images available for research. Flagler College student interns are still in the process of digitizing these materials and will be releasing new collections at the end of the fall and spring semesters upon completion of each internship. The collections which we are now featuring include "St. Augustine Tourist Photographs," "Palm Beach and Other Old Florida Photographs," "Old Florida Tourist Ephemera," and "Postcards from FLA and Beyond."
This yearlong celebration throughout 2021 covered the history and culture of Black Americans living and working in St. Augustine. Resilience: Black Heritage in St. Augustine emerged from a series of conversations among cultural heritage professionals over the summer of 2020. These collaborative efforts yielded an effort to better center the many contributions the Black community has made and continues to make in St. Augustine's cultural identity. This exhibit features collections, events, projects, and exhibits from the partnering institutions.
This guide serves as a finding aid to the genre of St. Augustine Fiction, which is a collecting foci for the Proctor Library. Although a "special collection," not all books are located in Rare Books, Floridiana & Institutional Repository.
This digital exhibit highlights different libraries, archives, and museums in St. Johns, Duval, Clay, and Flagler counties that have items related to the WWII experience in the military or on the home front, or historical memory of that pivotal period in history. Please refer to information on the home page for each institution for location and contact information for the partnering institutions.