This is an alphabetical list of the databases most useful for researching Florida Civil Rights history.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998):
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
American Periodical Series:
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
History Vault:
Primary source collection that includes government, organizational, and personal files covering the history of African-Americans in the United States between 1910 to the early 1980’s. FBI files and NAACP files are included.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
Chicago Manual of Style:
This has the complete text of the Chicago Manual of Style. Both the Table of Contents and the Index are hyperlinked, allowing you to move from one section to another.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
Civil Rights Library of St. Augustine:
A digital archive of primary source materials that document the history of St. Augustine’s civil rights movement.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
Global Newsstream:
Contains The New York Times from 1999 to the present and 500 national and international newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present and 13 Florida newspapers.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
Issues & Controversies:
Information on current topics, with analysis and explanations of opposing points of view. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information are included.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
JSTOR:
Our only database dedicated solely to scholarly literature with articles in the fields of history, political science, archaeology, art history, anthropology, literature and languages, music, and more; however, JSTOR usually is unable to provide access to the most recently published articles.
Has Peer Reviewed: Yes
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
New York Times 1851 – Present:
Create an account using your Flagler email address and enjoy access to the entirety of the New York Times from 1851 to today. PLEASE NOTE: At this time, access to articles from the date range 1923 to 1980 is limited is limited to 5 articles per day per user.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No
NewsBank Access World News:
Includes full text access to major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
WorldCat:
A powerful database that includes the book collections of over 70,000 libraries in the world. Most useful as pre-research to doing an Inter-Library Loan request.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: No