Proctor Library: Health Science and Sports Management: Related Journals and Databases

Useful Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Credo Reference
A searchable collection of over 620 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books covering every subject area.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Has Peer Reviewed: Yes
Searchable in Discovery: No
Science
Includes full text of all issues of Science, one of the world's leading peer reviewed science journals, from 1997 through present.
Has Peer Reviewed: Yes
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
Science (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Science contains full-text journals covering the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Premier source for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many journals.
Has Peer Reviewed: Yes
Searchable in Discovery: Yes
Springer eBooks
Provides access to eBooks on a wide range of disciplines with an emphasis on earth and environmental science.
Has Peer Reviewed: No
Searchable in Discovery: Yes

Selected Health Sciences and Sports Management Journals

This is not a comprehensive list. Please visit our journal finder to search for additional resources.

The International Journal of Health, Wellness and Society
Peer reviewed - Impact factor: 1
Exploring the intersections of human physiology and the conditions of social life.
Journal of Global Sport Management Taylor and Francis
Peer reviewed - Imapct factor - 1.8
The Journal of Global Sport Management (JGSM) aims to be the global platform for focused, rigorous, and interdisciplinary research that has originality, depth, and clarify of insights into significant issues and developments of interest to sport management. Its main objectives: to advance research; to enhance practice; and to facilitate good policy-making decisions.
Nutrition and Health - Sage
Peer Reviewed—impact Factor: 1.9
Nutrition and Health is an online international peer-reviewed journal that focusses on the relationship between nutrition and health. The journal welcomes original investigations, short communications, reviews, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, protocols, commentaries, hypotheses and case studies on current topics relating to the full spectrum of the effects of diet and nutrition on health and disease. Whilst the focus of the journal will be soundly based in human nutrition, animal, cellular and molecular based studies will be accepted where they can shed light on a particular mechanism or treatment modality pertinent to the human condition. Nutrition and Health will consider the publication of studies showing negative and non-findings on an equal basis with those studies showing positive findings.
Sport Management Review
Peer reviewed - Impact factor: 3.7
Sport Management Review is published as a service to sport industries worldwide. It is a multidisciplinary journal concerned with the management, marketing, and governance of sport at all levels and in all its manifestations -- whether as an entertainment, a recreation, or an occupation. The journal encourages collaboration between scholars and practitioners. It welcomes submissions reporting new research, new applications and advances in theory. The language of publication is English. Submissions are peer reviewed.
Sport Psychologist
Peer reviewed - Impact factor: 2.1
TSP is a scholarly refereed journal designed as a forum to stimulate thought and disseminate knowledge that focuses on the application and practice of sport psychology. A special emphasis of the journal is on the delivery of psychological services to practitioners such as athletes and coaches. TSP is international in scope and is receptive to diverse methodologies. TSP is published for sport psychology specialists who engage in research, teaching, and/or intervention in a variety of contexts including academic, public, and private settings. The journal is also intended for practitioners such as coaches who have training and interest in sport psychology.