Policies

The Flagler College Library is committed to supporting the academic and intellectual growth of its students, faculty, and staff by providing access to a diverse and balanced collection of resources. This policy affirms the Library’s dedication to intellectual freedom, the promotion of critical thinking, and adherence to the principles outlined in the American Library Association’s (ALA) Library Bill of Rights and Freedom to Read Statement. It serves as a framework for the selection, acquisition, and deaccession of materials in a manner that aligns with Flagler College’s mission and values. 

Materials are selected based on the following objective and viewpoint-neutral criteria: 

• Relevance to Curriculum: Alignment with the educational goals and academic programs of Flagler College. 
• Authority and Credibility: The qualifications and expertise of the author, publisher, or producer. 
• Accuracy: Factual reliability and timeliness of information. 
• Diversity and Representation: Inclusion of diverse perspectives, cultural experiences, and underrepresented voices. 
• Scholarly Value: Contribution to academic discourse and research. 
• Student Engagement: Potential to foster curiosity, critical thinking, and meaningful discussion. 
• Format and Accessibility: Suitability of format and compatibility with the Library’s technological resources and accessibility standards. 
• Budget Considerations: Cost-effectiveness relative to the anticipated demand and value to the collection. 

Acceptance of Gifts: 

• The Library accepts gifts of books, DVDs, manuscripts, and other materials that support the curriculum, enhance the collection, or contribute to the historical and cultural record of the college. 
• The most useful donations are new books and replacements for missing items that support the current College curriculum. The Library does not collect duplicates, older paperbacks, or outdated textbooks.  
• Donors are required to submit a detailed inventory of the materials offered, including condition, origin, and any relevant documentation. 

Evaluation Criteria: 

• Relevance to the Library’s existing collection and alignment with its selection criteria. 
• Physical condition and suitability for circulation or preservation. 
• Absence of restrictions that would impede access, processing, or use. 
• Feasibility of integrating the materials into the collection without undue financial or spatial burdens. 

Donor Agreement: 

• Donors must sign a Deed of Gift form, transferring ownership of the materials to the Library. 
• The Library reserves the right to determine the retention, location, cataloging, and disposal of all donated items.  
• Donors are expected to bring the material to the Proctor Library. Materials may be brought in person by appointment or shipped to the Library. 

Acknowledgment and Tax Deduction: 

• Donors receive a written acknowledgment of their gift. However, the Library does not appraise or assign monetary value to donations for tax purposes. 

Disposition of Unneeded Items: 

• Materials not added to the collection may be donated to other institutions, sold, recycled, or otherwise disposed of in accordance with the Library’s policies. 

PLEASE NOTE: The Proctor Library is an active college collection that is used heavily by students. The Library cannot function as an archive for personal papers, artists' works or personal book collections that require special housing. 

Responsibility for Selection: 

• The Collection Development Librarian and the Director of Library Services oversee the overall development of the collection. 
• Librarians collaborate with faculty to identify materials that support the curriculum. 
• Student and staff suggestions are welcomed and evaluated against the selection criteria. 

Approval and Documentation: 

• All acquisitions are documented and periodically reviewed to ensure they meet the stated criteria. 

To maintain a relevant and high-quality collection, the Library engages in regular weeding of materials based on the following criteria: 

• Obsolescence: Materials with outdated or superseded information, particularly in rapidly changing fields. 
• Physical Condition: Items that are damaged or in poor condition beyond reasonable repair. 
• Usage: Materials with low or no circulation over a defined period, typically five years, unless they have significant academic or historical value. 
• Relevance: Resources no longer aligned with the current curriculum or research needs of the college. 
• Duplication: Excess copies of titles no longer in high demand. 
• Space Limitations: Removal of less critical materials to prioritize space for new acquisitions. 
• Weeded materials may be donated, recycled, or disposed of in accordance with the Library’s sustainability practices. The weeding process is documented, and faculty input is sought for decisions impacting subject-specific collections. 

The Library’s collection reflects the diverse viewpoints and ideas essential to academic inquiry. Materials are not excluded or removed based on their creators’ political, religious, or social views. The Library upholds the right of users to access information freely, consistent with the ALA’s statements on intellectual freedom. 

This policy is reviewed every three years or as needed to ensure its continued relevance and effectiveness. Feedback from the Flagler College community is encouraged and considered in revisions. 

By adhering to this policy, the Flagler College Library ensures a robust, balanced, and legally defensible collection that meets the educational needs of its community while safeguarding intellectual freedom. This policy reflects our unwavering commitment to academic excellence and inclusivity. 

This policy was developed by the staff of the Proctor Library and Claude AI, which was used to maximize conciseness and readability.